Announcing the 2023 StateRAMP Board of Directors and Committees

by Liz Huston

Founded at the beginning of 2020, StateRAMP was born from the clear need for a standardized approach to the cybersecurity standards required from service providers offering solutions to state and local governments, public education institutions, and special districts.  

As a 501(c)6 nonprofit organization, StateRAMP’s mission is to promote cybersecurity best practices through education and policy development to improve the cyber posture of public institutions and the citizens they serve.  

“We are grateful to have received more than 50 nominations for the open positions on StateRAMP’s Board of Directors and committees for 2023. The Nominating Committee was impressed by candidates’ breadth of experience and humbled by their commitment to StateRAMP’s founding principles. Choosing the right candidates to guide the organization took careful consideration, but I am honored to announce the 2023 StateRAMP Board of Directors and Committee Members,” said Jaime Schorr, Chair of the StateRAMP Nominating Committee and Chief Procurement Officer for the State of Maine. 

Board of Directors  

  • J.R. Sloan, Chief Information Officer, State of Arizona 
  • Ted Cotterill, Chief Privacy Officer/Management Performance Hub General Counsel, State of Indiana 
  • Glenn Herdrich, Information Security Manager, Sacramento County 
  • Joe Bielawski, President, Knowledge Services 
  • Dugan Petty, Retired NASPO ValuePoint, Subject Matter Expert  

Standards & Technical Committee Members 

  • Sean Hughes, Assistant Secretary for Technology, Security and Operations/Chief Operating Officer, Massachusetts Executive Office of Technology Services and Security  
  • Danielle Cox, Chief Information Security Officer, State of West Virginia  
  • Charles Rote, Deputy Chief Information Security Officer, Maine Office of Information Technology 
  • Matthew Kelly, Deputy Chief Information Security Officer for Security Policy & Governance, Texas Department of Information Resources  
  • Steve Nettles, Statewide Procurement Group Manager, State of Arizona 
  • Dan Lohrmann, Field Chief Information Security Officer, Public Sector, Presidio  
  • Joe Bielawski, President, Knowledge Services 
  • Jason Oksenhendler, Senior Manager, Cyber Risk Advisory, Coalfire 
  • Richard Zak, Director, Data Governance & Compliance, US State & Local Government, Microsoft  

Standards & Technical Committee Advisors 

  • Jim Garrett, Chief Information Security Officer, State of Missouri 
  • Earl Crane, Adjunct Faculty, University of Texas at Austin 
  • Phyllis Lee, Sr. Director of Controls, Center for Internet Security 
  • James Mason, Chief Technology Officer (Interim), NASPO 
  • Maria Thompson, Cybersecurity Lead, Amazon Web Services 
  • Rashad Munawar, Director, Security Compliance and Operations, BlackBerry Government Solutions 
  • Siddique Chaudhry, Manager, Global Public Sector Security Compliance, Snowflake, Inc.  

Appeals Committee Members 

  • Ray Yepes, Chief Information Security Officer, State of Colorado’s Governor’s Office of Information Technology  
  • Owen Zorge, Chief Information Security Officer, City of Chandler, AZ 
  • Ted Cotterill, Chief Privacy Officer/Management Performance Hub General Counsel, State of Indiana 
  • Charlie Mewshaw, Chief Information Security Officer, Fayetteville State University 
  • Rich Banta, Co-Owner and Chief Information Security Officer, Lifelines Data Center 
  • Teri Takai, Executive Director, Center for Digital Government  
  • Ramanuj Kushwaha, Leader, US Public Sector Market Transformation and Growth, Cisco 

Appeals Committee Advisors  

  • Jeff Wann, Chief Information Officer, The State of Missouri, IT Services Division, Office of Administration 
  • Neil Slagle, Director of Information Systems, City of Springfield 
  • Mase Izadjoo, Vice President and Chief Information Security Officer, Earthling Security  
  • Tony Bai, Federal Practice Lead, A-LIGN 
  • Jennifer Hawks, Vice President, Government Services, NCC Group  

Nominating Committee Members 

  • J.R. Sloan, Chief Information Officer, State of Arizona 
  • McCall Ginsberg, Deputy General Counsel, Georgia Department of Administrative Services 
  • Dugan Petty, Retired NAPSO ValuePoint, Subject Matter Expert 
  • Fay Tan, Legal Counsel, NASPO ValuePoint  
  • Doug Robinson, Executive Director, NASCIO 

Approvals Committee 

  • Jayson Cavendish, Chief Security Officer, Michigan Department of Technology, Management, and Budget 
  • Rob Main, State Chief Risk Officer, North Carolina Department of Information Technology  
  • Antoine Charles, Third Party Risk Analyst, Oklahoma Office of Management and Enterprise Services, State of Oklahoma  
  • Adam Mikeal, Director of IT Policy, Risk, Identity, and Data Management, Texas A&M University Division of IT 
  • Todd Ryan, Chief Information Officer, Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office, Florida 

“Since its founding, StateRAMP has shown remarkable momentum, helping promote cybersecurity best practices across the country. The entire StateRAMP organization is grateful for our applicants’ commitment to improving the cyber posture of all levels of government,” said JR Sloan, President of the StateRAMP Board and Chief Information Officer for the State of Arizona.  

Share this post: